Sisyphe wins the 36th Grand Prix


April 14 2022


Prize / Diffusion / The Conseil


Press Release

36e Grand Prix

The Conseil des arts de Montréal is delighted to announce that Sisyphe by Lemieux Pilon 4D Art has won the Conseil des arts de Montréal’s 36th Grand Prix and the accompanying $30,000 grant. The Prix du jury (Jury Prize), offered by the Caisse Desjardins de la Culture, with its $10,000 grant, has been awarded to Productions Nuits d’Afrique. And last but not least, Réalisatrices Équitables has won the Prix du public (Audience Award) which comes with a $10,000 grant awarded by Télé-Québec. Each finalist also receives a $5,000 grant awarded through the generosity of patrons. This makes for a total of $100,000 awarded to all the finalists and winners.

In an atmosphere full of excitement and emotion, celebration and reconnection, the Conseil is particularly pleased to return this year to its essence to recognize, in person, the artistic contributions that brightened the 2021 artistic year in Montréal.

A united tribute to boldness, innovation and talent
The lively and entertaining host, Marc Labrèche, was accompanied by Conseil des arts de Montréal Executive Director Nathalie Maillé and President Ben Marc Diendéré, as well as several hundred distinguished guests from the cultural, business and municipal communities, including the Minister of Canadian Heritage, Pablo Rodriguez and Montréal Mayor Valérie Plante.

This year, once again, the Conseil kept a close eye on the artistic community and we have been dazzled by the beauty and power of the art, as well as the courage, perseverance and innovation of artists and cultural workers. What a joy to come together to celebrate the innovative and trailblazing initiatives of the finalists and winners while paying tribute to the entire artistic community that has been working with passion and agility to rebuild the creative heart so essential to Montréal’s revival,” noted Conseil des arts de Montréal Executive Director Nathalie Maillé.

36th Grand Prix: Sisyphe – marathon performance by Victor Pilon ($30,000)
Innovation, uniqueness and authenticity. The desire to act, the desire to have an impact and the originality of the means of reaching the Montréal community. These are the criteria that guided the jury in determining the winner.

Overriding inevitability and suffering, Victor Pilon of Lemieux Pilon 4D Art created beauty and shared it with the public through an artistic approach of rare authenticity. For his powerful, philosophical and ephemeral initiative that brought together multiple partners in support of a unique work inspired by Albert Camus. For having invited the arts into the unlikely venue of the Olympic Stadium. For having transcended the loss of a loved one in an absolute catharsis, the 36th Grand Prix of the Conseil des arts de Montréal is awarded to Sisyphe – marathon performance by Victor Pilon – by Lemieux Pilon 4D Art.

Jury Prize: Productions Nuits d’Afriques ($10,000)
A unanimous favourite, the Jury Prize is awarded to a pioneering organization that has become a signature event in the city. Joie de vivre, openness, dance and music form a chemistry through which talented local and visiting artists transport Montrealers hailing from different worlds.

For the creativity, resilience and determination of their team, for all their activities that have energized Montréal for more than 35 years, and to recognize the work of its founder, Lamine Touré, the Jury Prize is awarded to Productions Nuits d’Afrique.

Audience Award: Réalisatrices Équitables ($10,000)
The dedicated winner of the Audience Award strives for greater parity for women in the film industry while demanding for an equal voice for women filmmakers of Indigenous and culturally diverse backgrounds. Réalisatrices Équitables advocates for institutions to allocate larger budgets to women and to publishing a statistical website providing a clear picture of the evolution of earnings.

For all these actions that have stirred people’s hearts, Réalisatrices Équitables wins the Audience Award, a unanimous choice by the population invited to cast a vote, which more than 3,000 people did.

Jury composition
The jury responsible for selecting the winning organizations for the Grand Prix and Jury Prize was chaired by Ben Marc Diendéré.  He enlisted actor Markita Boies, the president of Gazelles and the Jeune chambre de commerce de Montréal, Habi Gerba, the founder, artistic director and co-CEO of Mutek, Alain Mongeau, and anthropologist, speaker and storyteller Nicole O’Bomsawin. The jury was responsible for selecting the Grand Prix and Jury Prize winners from among this year’s 10 finalists: Centre d’art daphne, Danse-CitéFestival Accès AsieLa poésie partoutLe MonastèreLes Forges de MontréalProductions Nuits d’AfriqueRéalisatrices ÉquitablesSisyphe (Lemieux Pilon 4D Art) and Violette (Joe Jack et John).

Valuable and essential contributions 
The Conseil warmly thanks its major partners whose significant support helped make this event a highlight in Montréal’s artistic life: Télé-QuébecCaisse Desjardins de la Culture and La Presse.

A huge thank you also to our patrons for their generous donations that help support finalists and the performances showcased during the 36th Grand Prix: Power Corporation of CanadaBellÉcole nationale de théâtre du CanadaEY, the Honourable Amina GerbaVickie JosephLuc PlamondonJean-Louis RoySollio Cooperative GroupTELUS and Tourisme Montréal.