Board of Directors

To guide its actions, the Conseil des arts de Montréal can count on the sound advice of the members of its Board of Directors, who come mainly from the arts community, but also from the education, business and municipal sectors.


The Board of Directors is made up of 21 members, all of whom reside on the island of Montreal and work as volunteers for the Conseil. Each person is appointed for a three-year term, renewable once, by the Agglomeration Council of Montreal, which also appoints one person as President and two as Vice-Presidents. The Treasurer is automatically the Treasurer of the City of Montreal. 

Members of the Board of Director

Ben Marc Diendéré
Ben Marc Diendéré
Corporate director and philanthropist

Born in Bobo-Dioulasso, Burkina Faso, Ben Marc Diendéré arrived in Quebec at the age of 25 after studying in France, and is today a communications expert with extensive managerial experience. He has been the Chair of the Conseil des arts de Montréal since September 1, 2021.

From 2020 to 2022, he was the Chief Public Affairs and Communications Officer at VIA Rail Canada. Prior to this role, he held senior management positions in several large organizations, including Partenariat international, Quebecor and Sollio Cooperative Group (formerly La Coop fédérée) where he stood out for his keen understanding of issues and strategic thinking. In Montréal, his professional career began in the cultural sector at the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC), where he was responsible for statistical and corporate research.

His interest in arts and culture as a boy has never waned and has seen him become an ardent promoter of Quebec culture today. From 2012 to 2019, he served on the Board of Directors of the Conseil des arts de Montréal and chaired its Communications Committee, contributing to its positioning and reach. He has also participated in major fundraising campaigns (Théâtre du Rideau Vert and Théâtre du Nouveau Monde), served as honorary president of Vues d’Afrique (2018) and Nuit de l’Excellence (2019) and actively contributed to the Centre du Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui, Culture pour tous and Porte Parole.

His desire to contribute to Montréal’s vitality and dynamism motivates him to serve on the boards of directors of UNICEF Global; Université de Montréal, where he chairs the development committee; La Factry; and Groupe 3737, an organization fostering entrepreneurial innovation and diversity. He is also a long-time support of the organization Little Brothers.

An engaging, inspiring and ambitious leader, his expertise stretches across numerous sectors (from telecommunications to transport and agri-food), and he boasts an extensive network in academic, community, business and philanthropic circles. In 2016, he co-founded Excellence Québec, an initiative to increase inclusion and representation on boards of directors.

Mr. Diendéré holds a master’s degree in sociology of information and communication from the University of Ouagadougou. He also holds a DESS in communications and administration from Sorbonne Panthéon-ASSAS Paris II University and a master’s in management and administration of cultural organizations from HEC Montréal.

Agathe Alie
Agathe Alie
Director of special initiatives

Offices of Canadian Heritage and the Lieutenant of Quebec

Nadir André - CA
Nadir André
Lawyer and partner

Borden Ladner Gervais firm

Aliénor Armand-Linot
Aliénor Armand-Linot
Director, Natural Resources

PSP Investments

Valérie Beaulieu - CA
Valérie Beaulieu
Director of the Culture Department (observer member)

City of Montréal

Hannah Claus
Hannah Claus
Transdisciplinary artist

Assistant Professor, Concordia University

Yves-Alexandre Comeau - CA 1
Yves-Alexandre Comeau
Director, External Communications

Fonds de solidarité FTQ

Maxime Codère - CA 3
Maxime Codère
Partner - Deal Advisory - Restructuring & Turnaround


Amélie Duceppe - CA
Amélie Duceppe
Executive Director


Geneviève Dupéré CA 1
Geneviève Dupéré
Researcher and designer, CRITAC

Professor at the National Theater School (specificities of circus arts)

Josée Duplessis - CA
Josée Duplessis
Executive director

Maison du développement durable

Sylvie François - CA
Sylvie François

Lune Rouge Collection

Nadine Gomez - CA 2
Nadine Gomez
Dany Laferrière - CA 1
Dany Laferrière
Writer (honorary member)
Caroline MG - CA
Caroline Marcoux-Gendron
Associate Professor, UQAM

General and Scientific Coordinator, Observatoire interdisciplinaire de création et de recherche en musique

Charles Milliard
Charles Miliard
Chief executive officer

Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec (FCCQ)

André Nadir - CA
Caroline Ohrt
Consultant, artistic direction and strategic leadership
Stanley Péan - CA
Stanley Péan
Writer and animator
Mathieu Perrier - Membre CA
Mathieu Perrier
Head of Division, Finance Department

City of Montréal

Marie-Jacqueline Saint-Fleur - membre CA
Marie-Jacqueline Saint-Fleur
Administrator, Eng. CPA CMA, ICD.D, MBA
Angela Sierra - CA 1
Angela Sierra
Executive Director

LatinArte and Maison des Amériques

Hugues Sweeney - membre CA 1
Hugues Sweeney

Thinkwell Studio Montréal

Thien Vu Dang - CA 2
Thien Vu Dang
Executive Director


Executive Committee

Ben Marc Diendéré
Ben Marc Diendéré
Nathalie Maillé
Nathalie Maillé
Executive Director and Secretary
Caroline Ohrt - vice-présidente
Caroline Ohrt
vice president
Mathieu Perrier
Mathieu Perrier
Hugues Sweeney - membre CA 1
Hugues Sweeney
Financial Verification Committee

Marie-Jacqueline Saint-Fleur, chairwomen
Maxime Codère
Julie Marineau
Mathieu Perrier

Governance and Nominations committee

Aliénor Armand-Linot, chairwomen
Nadir André
Charles Milliard

Philanthropic development Committee

Nadir André, chairman
Margaret Archer
Oumar Diallo
Angela Sierra

Communications Committee

Agathe Alie, chairwomen
Yves-Alexandre Comeau

Indigenous Arts Committee

Hannah Claus, chairwomen
Moe Clark
Dayna Danger
André Dudemaine
Dave Jenniss
Camille Larivée
Emilie Monnet
Nadia Myre
Olivia Lya Thomassie
Asinnajaq Weetaluktuk
Nico Williams