June 6 2019

La Pirogue and Noubi Trio Honoured in the 9th edition of the Prix de la diversité en musique Awards


La Pirogue
Photo : Alex Paillon

Noubi Trio
Photo: Alex Paillon


Congratulations to artist collectives La Pirogue and Noubi Trio, the winners of the 9th edition of the Prix de la diversité en musique from the Conseil des arts de Montréal and its partners. The award honours Montreal’s wide range of forms of musical expression and aims to support the careers of musicians who reflect the city’s cultural diversity through various professional experiences.

The jury chose to honour the artistic approach of the musicians who make up La Pirogue, their connection and their level of comfort onstage and with audiences. Composed of Romain Malagnoux, Brenda Diaz, Zilien Biret and Sergio Barrenechea, the collective’s compositions are inspired by established musical traditions.

Noubi Trio was recognized for the talent of its three musicians, Noubi, alias Ibnou Ndiaye, Carlo Birri and Vincent Duhaime-Perreault. The jury particularly appreciated the artists’ onstage charisma as well as the group’s creativity and professionalism.

The two winning ensembles have earned a professional development program with support from various partners. The program will culminate with their participation in the Conseil des arts de Montréal’s touring program in 2020-2021.

This award is provided by the Conseil des arts de Montréal in cooperation with Centre des musiciens du monde, Mundial Montréal, Place des Arts, Radio-Canada and Vision Diversité.